Ways Dialectical Behavior Therapy Works in Recovery

Ways Dialectical Behavior Therapy Works in Recovery

Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) is an evidence-based therapy treatment that has been helpful to treat patients that have post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), eating disorders, depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, and substance abuse. Originally DBT started off as a way to treat borderline personality disorder. The effects worked so well that the treatment was extended to patients with other disorders that needed to learn life skills for pain management involving ways to handle emotional distress and maintain interpersonal relationships.

The four stages of dialectical behavior therapy are used specifically to provide different levels of therapeutic skills to give relief for the disorder. Depending on the severity of the patient’s condition, each stage must be completed to move onto the next with no precise time frame in mind.

Stage 1

By accepting the symptoms of their disorder, a patient can move forward with therapy instead of using self-destructive behaviors to deflect the painful trauma or stress that they have endured in their lifetime. Learning behavioral control is the first thing that needs to be accomplished in this stage so that the patient can be instructed on how to stop hurting themselves.

Stage 2

During this stage, their dangerous behavior is under control, but they continue to suffer on the inside due to what happened in their past. The goal is to be able to express the emotions that they feel by learning how to experience and process them in a healthier manner.

Stage 3

The patient feels that they are unworthy of happiness, love, or respect and they dismiss what their true needs are. Learning how to live a life full of positive purpose is the challenge for this stage. Happiness, love, and self-respect will come full circle with the appropriate work.

Stage 4

Using a spiritual connection to a Higher Power can make the experience a more fulfilling one to make the effects lasting. Not all patients will exercise this fourth stage. If they do, their process will include a joy and freedom that they will want to utilize for continual development.

DBT is consisted of individual therapy and group therapy, although the result can be achieved without one or the other. The point of DBT therapy is to motivate patients to continue with their course of action to replace old behaviors with ones that are effective behaviors to steadily enhance their life.

— View related posts —

Will I Have a Purpose When I Get Sober?

Will I Have a Purpose When I Get Sober?

Finding a purpose while you are in the throes of your addiction can prove to be even more difficult than when you are not under the influence.

Why Do I Need to Have Reliance in Recovery Principles?

Why Do I Need to Have Reliance in Recovery Principles?

The sentiments of Faith, Hope, Love, and Honesty when heard may usually be pushed off as something completely religious.

How Can I Be of Service When I Have Nothing to Give?

How Can I Be of Service When I Have Nothing to Give?

One of the fundamentals in recovery is to be of service to those around you.

Pacific Solstice Events

Treating The Epidemic: Harm Reduction & Narcan Training
3/13/19 from 1:00-2:30 PM.
Hosted by Pacific Solstice

More news soon.

Get help: (949) 200-7929

© 2019 Pacific Solstice